skip to content

Statistical Laboratory

The Trust was founded in 1975 in memory of Rollo Davidson, an accomplished mathematician of remarkable potential, and Fellow-elect of Churchill College, Cambridge, who died on the Piz Bernina in 1970. Rollo's obituary can be found here. Initial funding from the Trust came from the royalties of two collections of papers published in 1973/74 by friends and colleagues of Rollo. The Trust awards an annual Prize for young probabilists and has benefited from the continuing association with the Davidson family.

The Rollo Davidson Trustees have pleasure in announcing the award of the Rollo Davidson Prize for 2022 jointly to

Amol Aggarwal (Columbia University) for fundamental contributions to random matrix theory and integrable probability

and to

Konstantin Tikhomirov (Georgia Institute of Technology) for deep new results on the singularity of random Bernoulli matrices.




Thomas Bond Sprague Prize

The Rollo Davidson Trustees have announced the establishment of the Thomas Bond Sprague Prize. The prize has been made possible through the enthusiasm of and generous donation by Mr David O. Forfar, MA, FFA, to whom the Trustees express their gratitude and appreciation.

The  Trustees give notice of the award of the 2021 Thomas Bond Sprague Prize for the Master of Mathematics/Master of Advanced Studies in Mathematics examinations, to P. Bevan of Queens' College for distinguished performance in the areas of statistics and information theory.

Frontpage talks



Cambridge Statistics Clinic