CHURCHILL COLLEGE UNIVERSITY OF CAMBRIDGE

ROLLO DAVIDSON TRUST

Thomas Bond Sprague Prize

The Rollo Davidson Trustees give notice of the award of the 2022 Thomas Bond Sprague Prize for the Master of Mathematics/Master of Advanced Studies in Mathematics examinations, to

E. Katiyar of Corpus Christi College

for distinguished performance in the areas of statistics and optimisation

and to

S. McInerney of St John's College

for distinguished performance in the areas of statistics and optimisation

and to

D. Yue of Emmanuel College

for distinguished performance in the areas of probability, statistics and optimisation.

The Sprague prize commemorates Thomas Bond Sprague (1830-1920), the only person to have been President of both the Institute of Actuaries in London and the Faculty of Actuaries in Edinburgh. Sprague was Senior Wrangler and Smith's Prizewinner at the University of Cambridge in 1853. He had a most distinguished career in the actuarial profession, becoming actuary to the Equity and Law life insurance company, and Chief Executive of the Scottish Equitable Life Assurance Society.

The Prize is awarded annually for distinguished performance in the Master of Mathematics/Master of Advanced Studies in Mathematics examinations of the University of Cambridge in the subjects of actuarial science, finance, insurance, mathematics of operational research, probability, risk and statistics.

> James Norris Chair, Rollo Davidson Trust 8 July 2022