Statistical Laboratory 

The Rollo Davidson Trust

The Trust was founded in 1975 in memory of Rollo Davidson, an accomplished mathematician of remarkable potential, and Fellow-elect of Churchill College, Cambridge, who died on the Piz Bernina in 1970. Initial funding from the Trust came from the royalties of two collections of papers published in 1973/74 by friends and colleagues of Rollo. The Trust awards an annual Prize for young probabilists and has benefited from the continuing association with the Davidson family.

The Rollo Davidson Trustees have pleasure in announcing the award of the Rollo Davidson Prizes for 2014 to Paul Bourgade and Ivan Corwin.

The award to Paul Bourgade (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton and University of Cambridge) is for remarkable new results in random matrix theory and related topics.

The award to Ivan Corwin (Columbia University and MIT) is for outstanding achievements in the area of stochastic growth processes and their relation to integrable systems.

The Rollo Davidson Trustees annouce the establishment of the Thomas Bond Sprague Prize. The prize has been made possible through the enthusiasm of and generous donation by Mr David O. Forfar, MA, FFA, to whom the Trustees express their gratitude and appreciation.